Tumbling Rocks

I got a rock tumbler for my birthday. We went to a rock shop and I got rocks to tumble. I want to make jewelry and pretty rocks ;o

First I had to sort the rocks and break them into smaller pieces

We put in sand too.

Then we put them into the tumbler and we put it in the basement because it was nosiy so we can sleep. (It is behind me in the pciture).

It takes a long time and it takes 7 weeks. That’s how long it takes. In between weΒ put in differentΒ sand and had to wash the rocks.

Β 

The rocks have 2 more weeks to go but they are getting smooth and shiny.

16 responses to “Tumbling Rocks

  1. My little brother got a rock tumbler for his birthday when he was about your age. I remember that it was really noisy! My daddy ended up putting it out in his shed so that we couldn’t hear it in the house. lol My brother tumbled a pretty purple rock and gave it to me for my birthday that year and I still have it after more than 20 years. I hope you have fun with your rock tumbler. I like to make jewelry too, and I’m sure you can make some pretty pendants and things with your rocks once they are all done.

  2. The rocks are so cool Josie! I can’t believe how beautiful they are πŸ™‚ You are going to make pretty jewelry!

    • πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Wow! Those rocks certainly do look smooth! :O I’m glad you got a rock tumbler–I’d never even heard of one until you told us about it! πŸ™‚

    You mus be more patient than I am because I would be LOSING MY MIND if I had to wait 7 weeks! πŸ˜›

  4. Finding smooth rocks on the beach is one of my favorite things to do on vacation! Last year, my kids and I brought home a bucketful from Lake Superior and then polished them. Have fun with your pretty rocks!

  5. In the one picture it looks like you are panning for gold. Good job with the post, it is well thought out and told a great story. I can’t wait to see pics of the final products.

  6. I used to collect rocks as a child. But, I never got so involved with polishing them and making them smooth. Sounds like fun. Can’t wait to see the final polished rocks and any jewelry you make — it liked working with beads. Looks like a lot of work, but a lot of fun!

  7. Pingback: I made a bracelet for my Aunt | Animals and Art

Leave a Reply

